STARS IN EUROPE - SOUTH AFRICA - CLUB - Thulani Serero joins Vitesse Arnhem

Serero joins Dutch club Vitesse Arnhem.

14 Jun 2017

Tunisia beat Egypt and Algeria beat Togo.

11 Jun 2017
Africa Cup 2019 Qualifiers - Group Stage - 1st matches - so far

Former winners Nigeria, Ivory Coast and Zambia lose at home.

10 Jun 2017
STARS IN EUROPE - IVORY COAST - CLUB - Franck Kessie joins AC Milan

Kessie played for Ivory Coast at the U-17 World Cup in the UAE.

7 Jun 2017
STARS IN EUROPE - EGYPT - CLUB - Liverpool in talks with Roma for Mohamed Salah

Mohamed Salah scored 15 goals in 31 Serie A games for Roma in 2016-17

6 Jun 2017
AFRICAN CHAMPIONS LEAGUE 2017 - GROUP STAGE - 2nd Matches - all results

Saint George beat Vita Club, Ahly win over Wydad.

5 Jun 2017
AFRICAN CONFEDERATION CUP 2017 - GROUP STAGE - 2nd matches - all results

Holders TP Mazembe draw as Zesco United win at home.

5 Jun 2017

PLAYER OF THE YEAR 2015 - CAF - Aubameyang in frame for CAF award

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang


Gabon's Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, winner of the 2015 CAF award.

Gabon and Borussia Dortmund striker, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, is in the frame to win a second Confederation of African Football (CAF) Player of the Year award.

Aubameyang, who picked up the title last year, is named on a preliminary list of 30 for CAF’s annual title, which will be awarded at a gala on 5 January 2017 in Abuja, Nigeria.

Ivory Coast and Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure, a four-times winner and runner-up to Aubameyang last year, is not on the list.

Toure, who captained Ivory Coast to Africa Cup of Nations success in 2015, was last year's BBC African Footballer of the Year, but has struggled this season under new Manchester City boss Pep Guardiola.

Cameroon legend Samuel Eto'o, currently in Turkey with Antalyaspor, is included in the list of names, and could win his fifth title.

There are five players who are also included on the list for the Africa-based player of the year, including Mamelodi Sundowns trio, Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe), Dennis Onyango (Uganda) and Keegan Dolly (South Africa).

12 of the 30 footballers play in the English Premier League, including Algeria's Riyad Mahrez who won England's PFA Player of the Year award last season.

List of players nominated for CAF’s 2016: 
African Player of the year award:

▪ Ahmed Musa - Leicester City (England) and Nigeria
▪ Andre Ayew - West Ham (England) and Ghana
▪ Aymen Abdennour - Valencia (Spain) and Tunisia
▪ Benjamin Mounkandjo - Lorient (France) and Cameroon
▪ Cedric Bakambu - Villareal (Spain) and DR Congo
▪ Dennis Onyango - Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa) and Uganda
▪ El Arabi Hillel Soudani - Dinamo Zagreb (Croatia) and Algeria
▪ Eric Bailly - Manchester United (England) and Ivory Coast
▪ Hakim Ziyech - Ajax (Netherlands) and Morocco
▪ Islam Slimani - Leicester City (England) and Algeria
▪ Itumeleng Khune - Kaizer Chiefs (South Africa) and South Africa
▪ John Mikel Obi - Chelsea (England) and Nigeria
▪ Kalidou Koulibaly - Napoli (Italy) and Senegal
▪ Keegan Dolly - Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa) and South Africa
▪ Kelechi Iheanacho - Manchester City (England) and Nigeria
▪ Khama Billiat - Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa) and Zimbabwe
▪ Mbwana Samatta - Genk (Belgium) and Tanzania
▪ Mehdi Benatia - Juventus (Italy) and Morocco
▪ Mohamed El Neny - Arsenal (England) and Egypt
▪ Mohamed Salah - Roma (Italy) and Egypt
▪ Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang - Borussia Dortmund (Germany) and Gabon
▪ Riyad Mahrez - Leicester City (England) and Algeria
▪ Sadio Mane - Liverpool (England) and Senegal
▪ Samuel Eto'o - Antalyaspor (Turkey) and Cameroon
▪ Serge Aurier - PSG (France) and Ivory Coast
▪ Victor Wanyama - Tottenham (England) and Kenya
▪ Wahbi Khazri - Sunderland (England) and Tunisia
▪ William Jebor - Wydad Casablanca (Morocco) and Liberia
▪ Yannick Bolasie - Everton (England) and DR Congo
▪ Yao Kouasi Gervais 'Gervinho' - Hebei Fortune (China) and Ivory Coast



16 Oct 2016
(BBC Sport UK)

Related countries

Related articles