African Football 2019 - new year set to begin with a bang

afrofootball key dates 2019

5 Jan 2019
Happy New Year 2019

may all your dreams come true

1 Jan 2019
merry christmas - joyeux Noël

feliz natal - feliz navidad - merry christmas - joyeux Noël -

24 Dec 2018
African Super Cup 2018 - CAF moves traditional fixture to Qatar

The match is traditionally played at the home of the Champions League winners

14 Dec 2018
Africa Cup 2019 - CAF - Egypt is interested in bidding to host the 2019 Africa Cup

Egypt FA in U-turn over 2019 Africa Cup of Nations bid

12 Dec 2018

Raja Casablanca beat AS Vita Club (on aggregate) to win Condederation Cup 2018

4 Dec 2018

Raja Casablanca seize big advantage over AS Vita Club in Confed Cup final

26 Nov 2018
Africa Cup 2019 Qualifiers - group stage - 5th Matches - results

Mauretania qualify for Afrca Cup finals for the first time

18 Nov 2018

Al Ahly take first-leg lead in African Champions League final

3 Nov 2018

CAF Awards 2015 - Player of the Year - Nominees

Andre 'Dede' Ayew


Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang


Yaya Touré


The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has named the final three for its 2015 Player of the Year award.

Ivory Coast's Yaya Toure could be the first man to win the accolade five times.

The Manchester City star is up against Ghana and Swansea's Andre 'Dede' Ayew and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Borussia Dortmund.

The winner is chosen by head coaches of the FA's affiliated to CAF and ‎will be announced at a gala on 7 January.

CAF named an original list of 37 players in October before cutting it down to ten last month.

Toure, who captained Ivory Coast to the Africa Cup of Nations title in January, has won the award for the last four years and was named the BBC's 2015 African Player of the Year last week.

Cameroon's Samuel Eto'o is the only other player to have been crowned the best on the continent four times by CAF, winning in 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2010.

CAF has also released the final three names for the Africa-Based Player of the Year.

Baghdad Bounedjah of Algeria and Etoile du Sahel as well as the TP Mazembe duo of Tanzania's Mbwana Samatta and the DR Congo goalkeeper Robert Kidiaba.

Nominees for 2015 CAF Awards

Player of the Year:
• Andre 'Dede' Ayew - Ghana
• Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang - Gabon
• Yaya Toure - Ivory Coast 

Player of the Year (based in Africa):
• Baghdad Bounedjah - Algeria
• Mbwana Samatta - Tanzania
• Robert Kidiaba - Congo DR

Women's Player of the Year:
• Gabrielle Onguéné - Cameroon
• Gaelle Enganamouit - Cameroon
• Ngozi Ebere - Nigeria
• N'rehy Tia Ines - Ivory Coast
• Portia Boakye - Ghana

Youth Player of the Year:
Adama Traore - Mali
Kelechi Nwakali - Nigeria
Samuel Diarra - Mali
Victor Osimhen - Nigeria
Yaw Yeboah - Ghana

Most Promising Talent:
Azubuike Okechukwu - Nigeria
Etebo Oghenekaro - Nigeria
Djigui Diarra - Mali
Mahmoud 'Kahraba' Abdelmonem - Egypt
Zinedine Ferhat - Algeria

Coach of the Year:
Baye Ba - Mali Under-17
Emmanuel Amunike - Nigeria Under-17
Fawzi Benzarti - Etoile du Sahel
Hervé Renard - Ivory Coast
Patrice Carteron - TP Mazembe

Referee of the Year:
Alioum Neant - Cameroon
Bakary Papa Gassama - The Gambia
Eric Arnaud Otogo Castane - Gabon
Ghead Zaglol Grisha - Egypt
Janny Sikazwe - Zambia

African Legend:
CK Gyamfi - Ghana
Samuel Mbappé Léppé - Cameroon

National Team of the Year:
Ivory Coast
Mali Under-17
Nigeria Under-17
Nigeria Under-23

Women's National Team of the Year:
South Africa

Club of the Year:
• USM Algers - Algeria
• TP Mazembe - DR Congo
• Orlando Pirates - South Africa
• Etoile du Sahel - Tunisia



15 Dec 2015
(BBC Sport UK)

Related countries

Related articles