Africa Cup 2022 - National Football Team - Senegal - Squad

Senegal - Squad

5 Feb 2022
2022 AFRICA CUP - Third Place - DAY 20 - Burkina Faso vs Cameroon

Cameroon reach Third Place after defeating Burkina Faso 5:3 on penalties

5 Feb 2022
2022 AFRICA CUP - Semi-Finals - DAY 19 - Cameroon vs Egypt

Egypt reach final after defeating Cameroon in penalty shootout 3:1

3 Feb 2022
Africa Cup 2022 - National Football Team - Cameroon - Squad

Cameroon - Squad

2 Feb 2022
2022 AFRICA CUP - Semi-Finals - DAY 18 - Burkina Faso vs Senegal

Senegal reach final after defeating Burkina Faso 3:1

2 Feb 2022
Africa Cup 2022 - National Football Team - Egypt - Squad

Egypt - Squad

31 Jan 2022
2022 AFRICA CUP - Quarter-Finals - DAY 18 - Egypt vs Morocco

Egypt beat Morocco 2:1

30 Jan 2022
2022 AFRICA CUP - Quarter-Finals - DAY 18 - Senegal vs Equatorial Guinea

Senegal beat Equatorial Guinea 3:1

30 Jan 2022
2022 AFRICA CUP - Quarter-Finals - DAY 17 - Gambia vs Cameroon

Cameroon beat Ganbia 2:0

29 Jan 2022


Day 18
32nd match

Egypt vs Cameroon 1:2

Goal Egypt
Elneny (22' minutes)    

Goals Cameroon
N'Koulou (59') 
Aboubakar (88')


Vincent Aboubakar


Cameroon came from behind to beat Egypt 2:1 and seal a fifth Africa Cup of Nations in a thrilling, edgy final.

Substitute Vincent Aboubakar swept in the winner two minutes from time, flicking the ball over defender Ali Gabr and thumping it home.

Nicolas Nkoulou had earlier equalised for Cameroon, rising highest to power in a header on the hour mark.

The equaliser cancelled out Mohamed Elneny's opener on 22 minutes with a beautifully taken near-post strike.

The wild celebrations for Aboubaker's winner announced Cameroon's return to the continental summit, after a wait of 15 years.

It also makes them the second most successful nation in the competition's history - behind Egypt.

Besiktas striker Aboubaker ran towards the triumphant Cameroon fans in the Stade de l'Amitie stands in Libreville to celebrate, pursued by delirious teammates and the coaching staff.

Underdogs Cameroon had already upset the odds to reach the final and stunned the much-fancied Egyptians with the late dramatic strike, after fellow substitute Nkoulou had drawn them level.

Cameroon players - and staff - run for the stands to celebrate Vincent Aboubakar's winner


Despite being beset by pre-tournament problems, including the withdrawal of key players such as Joel Matip and Eric Chuopo-Moting, coach Hugo Broos managed to assemble a squad that got their reward for being strong, adaptable and resilient in equal measure throughout.

The Pharaohs - bidding for an eighth title after seven years in the international wilderness - started comfortably and Elneny's opening strike capped a wonderful fluent move down the right.

The Gunners midfielder started the move and finished it, after receiving the ball from Mohamed Salah in the box and sweeping it past Fabrice Ondoa into the roof of the net at the near post.

Cameroon's Indomitable Lions celebrate a fifth Africa Cup of Nations title

But Egypt invited the Indomitable Lions to come at them in the second half and they paid a heavy price.

The excellent Cameroon forward Benjamin Moukandjo whipped in an excellent, menacing cross and substitute Nkoulou muscled his way through the Egyptian defence to beat Ahmed Hegazy to the ball and bury it past 44-year-old Essam El Hadary in the Egyptian goal.

The contest developed into a fascinating cagey final, with Cameroon, inspired by the excellent Christian Bassogog and Jacques Zoua up front, pinning Egypt back and limiting them to long balls to Salah and substitute Ramadan Sobhi.

Fatigue soon set in in the Egyptian ranks and Cameroon got their reward for increasing the pressure on the experienced Egyptian defence

Aboubakar picked up the ball at the edge of the box, flicked it over the stranded Gabr, before gathering, taking a step and smashing home off his right foot for a fitting winner.



01. El Hadary
03. Elmohamady
02. Gabr Mossad
06. Hegazy
07. Ahmed Ibrahim
08. El Said Hamed
17. Elneny
10. Salah
19. El Said
21. HassanSubstituted forSobhiat 66'minutesBooked at 90mins
22. Warda


04. Sayed Gaber
05. Mohamed Gad
09. Hassan
12. Abdallah Duiedar
13. Shafy
14. Sobhi
15. Hafez
16. Ekramy Ahmed
20. Saad Ali


01. Ondoa
19. FaiBooked at 90mins
05. Ngadeu-Ngadjui
04. TeikeuSubstituted forN'Koulouat 31'minutes
06. Oyongo Bitolo
15. Siani
17. Sutchuin-Djoum
13. BassogogBooked at 90mins
09. Zoua DaogariSubstituted forMandjeckat 90+4'minutes
08. Moukandjo
18. TambeSubstituted forAboubakarat 45'minutesBooked at 89mins


02. Mabouka Maoussi
03. N'Koulou
07. N'Jie
10. Aboubakar
11. Salli
12. Boya
14. Mandjeck
16. Goda
20. Toko Ekambi
21. Djetei
22. Ngwen
23. Mbokwe

Janny Sikazwe



5 Feb 2017

Related countries

Related articles