Africa Cup 2019 Qualifiers - group stage - 6th Matches - all results

Tanzania beat Uganda to qualify

25 Mar 2019
Keyplayer - Ivory Coast - Boubacar Barry - Nations Cup winning keeper retires from football

Boubacar Barry retires from football

5 Mar 2019
Africa Cup 2019 Qualifiers - Nigeria - Captain left out of Super Eagles squad

John Mikel Obi captained Nigeria at the World Cup in Russia in 2018

5 Mar 2019
STARS IN ASIA - CAMEROON - Ex-Cameroon skipper Benjamin Moukandjo leaves Jiangsu Suning

Moukandjo captained the Indomitable Lions to their fifth continental title in 2017.

4 Mar 2019
National Teams - Burundi - Stars in Europe - Saido Berahino included in squad

Berahino has scored five goals in 26 appearances for Stoke City this season

3 Mar 2019
Stars in MLS - African representation bolstered by new signings

Significant representation for the continent whose numbers have been bolstered by several high profile signings.

2 Mar 2019
STARS IN EUROPE - Ivory Coast - COACH - Kolo Toure joins Brendan Rodgers' staff at Leicester City

Kolo Toure forms part of Brendan Rodger's new backroom team at Leicester City.

1 Mar 2019
NATIONAL TEAM - SENEGAL - Coach Aliou Cisse opts for youth in latest squad

Senegal have already qualified for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.

1 Mar 2019
Coaches in Africa - Confed Cup holders Raja Casablanca appoint Patrice Carteron

Raja Casablanca have named Patrice Carteron as their new coach.

31 Jan 2019
Africa Cup 2023 - CAF - Ivory Coast agree to host the Nations Cup in 2023

CAF President Ahmad met the President of Ivory Coast, Alassane Ouattara, on Tuesday

30 Jan 2019

Africa Cup 2017 - Burkina Faso - Squad - Coach - Paulo Duarte named his 23-man squad

Africa Cup 2017


Burkina Faso coach Paulo Duarte finally named his final Africa Cup of Nations squad on Friday - well after Wednesday's deadline.

The Confederation of African Football has yet to respond to BBC Sport's inquiry whether Burkina Faso will face a penalty for the late submission.

Defenders Ernest Congo and Issoumaila Lengani were the players cut from the initial 25-man list.

Burkina Faso are in Group A with hosts Gabon, Cameroon and Guinea-Bissau.

They will continue their preparations with a friendly against Mali on Saturday before their first match in the tournament against Cameroon in 14 January, the opening day of the event.

The final will take place on 5 February.


Burkina Faso squad:


Moussa Germain Sanou 
(Beauvais / FRA)

Herve Koffi 
(ASEC Mimosas / CIV)

Aboubacar Sawadogo 
(RC Kadiogo / BUR)


Patrick Malo 

Issoufou Dayo 
(RC Berkane / MAR)

Bakary Kone 
(Malaga / ESP)

Issouf Paro 
(Santos / RSA)

Steeve Yago 
(Toulouse / FRA)

Souleymane Kouanda
(ASEC Mimosas/CIV)

Yacouba Coulibaly 
(RC Bobo / BUR)


Charles Kabore 
(Krasnodar / RUS)

Prejuce Nacoulma 
(Kayserispor / TUR)

Alain Traore 
(Kayserispor / TUR)

Bertrand Traore 
(Ajax / NED)

Cyrille Bayala 
(Sheriff Tiraspol / MDA)

Bakary Sare 
(Moreirense / POR)

Blati Toure 
(Omonia / CYP)

Adama Guira 
(Lens / FRA)

Abdoul Razack Traore 
(Karabuspor / TUR)

Jonathan Zongo 
(Almeria / ESP)


Jonathan Pitroipa 
(Al Nasr / UAE)

Aristide Bance 
(ASEC Mimosas / CIV)

Banou Diawara 
(Smouha / EGY)


10 Jan 2017
(BBC Sport UK)

Related countries

Related articles